Each of these folder names is a unique identifier for that demo, to ensure that a demo with the same name does not overwrite it. Installed demos are locked for editing - this guarantees that the original demo is unchanged when being used by demo presenters. Users with licensed versions of DemoMate can always make copies of Installed demos and make any changes they desire.
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Working With DemoMate Files
By default, DemoMate files are stored in a "My Demos" folder that is created inside your default Documents folder. You can save the demo files to another location by using the File->Save As option from within DemoMate. Here's an example of what you'll see in a typical My Demos folder: Each demo actually has two items associated with it in this folder: the .demo file that defines the demo structure, and the demo asset folder of the same name. If you decide to delete a demo, you can do so by deleting both of these items. If you wish to move a demo to another location on the same computer, be sure and copy both the .demo file and the asset folder. You can transfer a demo to another computer by packaging the demo using a licensed version of DemoMate, and then running the new packaged demo installer on the computer you wish to transfer the demo to. This installation process ensures that all demo assets are correctly installed on the new computer. When installing a packaged demo on a computer, the new demo will be deployed into an "Installed" directory under your My Demos folder. Here is what you might see in the Installed folder with three different demos installed: